Campaign to Protect Rural England Standing up for your countryside

Skip to navigation

Policy Committee members

A short biography of Policy Committee members.

Richard Simmons (Chair of Policy Committee)
Richard is a town planner with nearly 40 years experience in both rural and urban planning and development. As CEO of the Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment from 2004-11, he advised government on improving the quality of urban areas, parks and landscapes. He has led policy-making and management in local and central government and non-profit  organisations. He teaches town planning at UCL and the University of Greenwich and works as a consultant, mainly internationally.

Lyndis Cole
A graduate of the University of Durham, Lyndis has worked for Land Use Consultants (LUC) throughout her life and brings with her over 35 years' experience in landscape planning and rural land management. She was made an Associate of LUC in 1981; Principal in 1985 and appointed Director in 1998 (resigned Directorship in 2009). Lyndis has led thinking on integrated rural development, the link between landscapes and food production, and the monitoring of landscape change. She has a strong interest in planning for sustainable future landscapes and exploring how the strengthening of ecosystem service delivery can also enhance landscape character and local sense of place while also increasing resilience to climate change. Lyndis is a regular public speaker and has strong facilitation skills. She has prepared many published guidance documents on environmental issues.

John Croxen
John Croxen trained as a lawyer before undertaking roles at Devon County Council where he was involved with the First Review of the County Structure Plan and planning enquiries in connection with major development proposals. John later worked as Head of Property Audit for Devon County Council, Secretary General of the Hong Kong Law Society, and legal adviser to the Hong Kong Medical and Dental Councils. He was for a short while director of CPRE Devon and is now Chairman of CPRE London.

Anna Hall
Anna is a hydrogeologist, water and agriculture policy specialist with over 15 years’ experience working in consultancy, for the National Farmers Union and most recently in a variety of water and agriculture roles in the Environment Agency with a specific focus on rural water quality, water resources and flooding as well as their links to agri-environment and the CAP. Anna has a passion for all things rural and has recently changed role to working to promote a sport synonymous with the British countryside, as Head of Participation at the British Equestrian Federation, aiming to get more people horse riding more often.

Stan Jones
Stan obtained a PhD in electronics and had a career in the electronics/electricity industry, becoming Group Managing Director of Rolls-Royce Transmission and Distribution. He had factories/projects in many countries in the Middle East, Far East, N America and S Africa, and remains a director of an Indian company.He chaired various community organisations including Tyneside Training & Enterprise Council, S Tyneside Enterprise Partnership and Gateshead Science Fair. He was awarded an OBE for services to the community. He has been a Trustee of various London-based Institutions. Presently he is chairman of Hughenden Neighbourhood Action Group and Wycombe District Neighbourhood Watch Association.

Richard Lloyd
Richard Lloyd is currently Vice-Chairman of CPRE Gloucestershire Branch and until last year was Vice-Chairman of CPRE SW Region. For CPRE SW Richard chairs the Rural Economy Topic Group and was a member of the national TFG on Rural Economy. His post as Secretary of State appointed board member of the Cotswolds Conservation Board will come to an end at the beginning of 2015, after serving there for ten years. Richard's professional was mainly at the Countryside Commission and Countryside Agency, where he worked on planning policy, protected landscapes and on agricultural and forestry policy. Richard was awarded an MBE for services to conservation in 2005. He is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and an Honorary Member of the Landscape Institute.

Michael Monk
A graduate of Bristol University, Michael Monk held a variety of posts in planning policy in local planning authorities between 1966 and 2005. He has worked on both Structure Plans and Local Plans. He led the team which first set out the policies for the Cambridge Green Belt in a single comprehensive document and which covered three District Councils’ areas. Upon retirement in 2005 he was asked on a consultancy basis to advise a number of local authorities on planning policy including Cambridge City Council, East Cambridgeshire, Huntingdonshire and South Cambridgeshire District Councils. He is currently Chairman of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Branch of CPRE and is Vice-Chairman of his parish council and convenor of a heritage group in his village.

Su Sayer (Chair of CPRE)
Su co-founded the disability charity United Response in 1973, and was its CEO for over 40 years. Awarded a CBE in the 2013 New Year’s Honours for services to disabled people throughout the UK, she has won several prestigious charity awards, including one for Outstanding Achievement and the other for Lifetime Achievement. She has had a lifelong passion for the countryside having spent much of her life living at the foot of the South Downs.


More for local groups

  • Circulars
  • Skills and Knowledge Directory
  • Trustee Board papers
  • Policy Committee papers

Back to top

frost on leaves web home

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. If that's okay, just continue browsing - or see our cookies policy for ways to opt out.
Cookies Policy I agree